Day 1 of Juicing

Leave a comment

January 8, 2013 by Rex

207.4

20130108-185414.jpg

So Deb and I made the plunge this morning into juicing. We went to Costco and got the Jack LaLanne juicer and a bunch of fruit and veggies and came home and I just decided today’s the day. As it turned out I hadn’t eaten anything this morning anyhow so this can actually be the first whole day.

20130108-185646.jpg

I was really hungry at noonish when I started cutting up and made the first batch of juice. It was DELICIOUS! I’m serious. It tasted great! So now I’m not worried about the taste factor. I think I’ll be fine with it.

I had a little headache when I went in for my nap and couldn’t really take a good nap. But I had a Lipodrene in me from early this morning so that could still be the cause. I was going to take a second one when I got up from my nap, but decided against it.

When I got up from the nap I didn’t feel all that hungry. When I got to the family room, after cutting up some firewood, and sat down around 3:30, Deb said she was getting pretty hungry. So after she finished making butter, she made the juice and I had my mug then. It was good. She put a lime in and I didn’t enjoy the taste quite as much but it grew on me.

I’m not really hungry, but I do have a little headache and feel just slightly light headed.

I was feeling exhilarated when we first started this and I still have that feeling but it’s subdued a little with the head fogginess I’ve got going on. I hope that it won’t make it difficult to sleep with this anxiousness I have about seeing what I look like on the tenth day.

And I REALLY hope I notice a difference. I would be really bummed out if I did all this and I didn’t really notice a difference.

Heck, I’m very anxious just for tomorrow morning to see how much I lost in one day of this.

I realized when I was up walking around before the second juice drink, oh I can’t have anything to eat. I was thinking of little snacks I could have right then that would be healthy so it would be okay. Then I realized: Oh, wait. I can’t have ANYTHING TO EAT for the next ten days. It’s not like a juice in the morning and one at lunch and then a solid meal. NO! NO! NO! No, no,no…. And I now kinda think THAT’S a good thing.

We’ve got too much weight (fat) we are carrying around. It won’t do any good to feed on something. I’m trying to get rid of that. And that was my body just naturally reacting to a late afternoon growling in my tummy. No! This what we are trying to put a stop to. The treadmill of: Oh, I feel a little hungry so let me indulge that and eat something.

When I first woke up from my nap I was thinking about three meals a day and how my whole day is dictated around it and I would eat regardless if I was hungry or not. It was TIME to eat, so I must eat. And eat it all or that would be wasteful.

I have to break myself of that. Who the HECK even decided that it’s 3 meals a day? And that they are at a certain time of the day? And if you don’t eat then, you don’t for the rest of the day.

I mean I know my upbringing is a HUGE reason for it. We had our meals at the exact same time each and every day. And we didn’t have all that great of snack choices around either. The only nuts we had were a hand full in a container on the counter that needed a nut cracker to get to and were raw…and not that tasty. We had the nasty Red Delicious apples that were NOT! We had one kind of cheese and Mom only bought enough for a week’s worth of sandwiches and that’s IT! No other veggies, other than in a can, or fruits around.

Snickers, we had a bag of those each week and some sort of ice cream thing sitting in the freezer for me. White Wonder bread.

And if we didn’t eat at the times Mom was making dinner then TOO BAD!

So I’m breaking a long and deeply ingrained tradition by trying to break my mind of 3 meals a day at the same time each day.

I don’t even know if 10 days will cure that in me. But, if we keep the juicer, I have got that for an attack against it. There are times when I’m not really hungry for lunch and just want to go take my nap, but know I’ll be too hungry to sleep and I’ll probably have a horrible headache that I can’t get rid of and so I’ll have to eat more and more fat, because that’s what my body craves during those times.

My portions too leave something to be desired. I don’t want to be hungry in a couple of hours so I gorge myself in order to tide me over. Then I’m gurthy. Again, it’s a vicious cycle, all of this. I know it’s supposed to get worse in the next few days. But we discussed it with the kids and explained a LOT of things about it to them. They were ALL very interested in the whole experience and had lots of REALLY good questions for us.

Ryan even started videoing the whole thing which I’m really happy about. I think it’s a good thing to record.

I haven’t noticed my pee any extra yellow, like when you take vitamins. That tells me a little something. The pills don’t get absorbed, but the stuff in the juice IS getting absorbed.

Leave a Reply

Cackleberry Farm

A Fresher Way to Eat

JUST FOR THE HEALTH OF IT

Passionate about clean eating and fitness for overall well-being

lifehardcore.wordpress.com/

" The Obstacle Is The Path "

Ignite Your Life Though Action

Care for Nature - Care for Yourself

STAY HEALTHY with SAMANTHA

Just another WordPress.com site

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Personally- It's ME

a personal walk with jesus makes everyday new and a better you

pleasurefultouch

Cause a fantasy is just as fun

myreturntohealth

A journey to rejuvenation after years of partying, weight gain, and body abuse

