Day 3 and the Snow Storm

Leave a comment

January 11, 2013 by Rex

Faith and Allie on Poo mountain

Faith and Allie on Poo Mountain

MAN did it snow! And the wind?!?! DANG!!!!!

So far, day 3 of the juicing has been nowhere NEAR as bad as day 2. I had a good morning but was still weak. Deb made the morning drink and I realized I was tired of the same tastes. I needed a kick. I needed something. I drank it and went out to milk with Maddie. Then we went over to the other side of the yard to grab a couple of bales of straw to put into Eva’s (our cow) barn. The wind was blowing all around and there was only one poo-filled area where she could go to get away from the storm.

That work actually made me feel better. Then I had Maddie bring in some of the apple wood off the pile and went to break up some pallets to use for firewood.

Meanwhile, Deb went out to give the pigs some water because Ryan had gone off already to take full advantage of the snow day. It was the first time I’d seen her out doing farm chores for awhile. It was kind of a turn-on ;-) .

With Jake being born in June, that has taken up the majority of her time and the burden of him mainly falls on her. We have picked up a lot of the chores around here that she would do so she can concentrate on Jake.

But I have missed her being outside working. I always enjoy being out there with her. There’s just a little something about it. She can pull off the cute farm girl very well.

Anyway, at 11 or so, I was hungry so I decided I wanted to make a different tasting juice. I went with apples and pineapple. It REALLY HIT THE SPOT! It’s just what I needed. It was sweet and no veggie aftertaste. No cucumber taste. I’m not a big fan of cucumbers.

Later I made a juice with kale, oranges, apples and carrots. Not bad. But hit a homerun with the one I made after that. 2 carrots, 4 small apples, 4 stalks of kale, 2 handfuls of spinach, 1/4 pineapple and 2 oranges.

FANTASTIC!!!

I’m still kind of craving food like mad though. It’s not literally maddening, yet. But when I realize I’m only 3 days into this thing, that’s when I’ve gotta kind of let that thought go. Solid food will be there for me when I’m done. It’s not going anywhere. I’m not making it so I can never eat solid food again. The world isn’t getting the better of me by eating solid food while I feel I’m on hold.

It doesn’t help that there’s not a whole lot to do right now. I don’t feel like working out in the woodshop right now and I can’t really go out, or I don’t want to in this weather, to pick up the solid wood I need to finish the library project and the gym project. I certainly can’t do anything outside. Plus, I’ve noticed the pain in the lower back and the side of my legs coming back.

I need to slowly work my way back into working out. Deb’s been doing cardio stuff for the last week. I was able to do some of my stretches this afternoon and I will try doing crunches tomorrow and see how I feel. But the lack of food is not making me want to do a lot of heavy work right now.

I realized that a lot of times I would do the hard work knowing there was going to be a big tasty dinner for me that night to replenish me. I don’t get that right now and so that gets me thinking about food. I can tell ya, this would be a whole lot easier if Deb was a lousy cook. But she’s not. She makes INCREDIBLE meals. And she will again, just not right now. That’s what I’ve got to keep telling myself.

Leave a Reply

Cackleberry Farm

A Fresher Way to Eat

JUST FOR THE HEALTH OF IT

Passionate about clean eating and fitness for overall well-being

Ignite Your Life Though Action

Care for Nature - Care for Yourself

STAY HEALTHY with SAMANTHA

Just another WordPress.com site

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Personally- It's ME

a personal walk with jesus makes everyday new and a better you

pleasurefultouch

Cause a fantasy is just as fun

myreturntohealth

A journey to rejuvenation after years of partying, weight gain, and body abuse

